Functioning in the Best Interest of Our Customers

Heartland is governed by an eleven-member board of directors, each member elected to represent a designated subdivision within the district. Directors are elected on a non-partisan basis in the general election for terms of six years.

Heartland's original nine subdivisions were established in 1969 and include virtually all rural areas of the 36 counties in eastern South Dakota. The cities of Groton, Madison, Volga, Arlington, Howard, Miller, and Plankinton, South Dakota later elected to be annexed into the district. Two new subdivisions were created to accommodate the additional territory.

Our board emphasizes reliable and economical generation and delivery systems. Heartland's board has the ultimate decision making authority for rates and power supply. Board meetings take place at Heartland's headquarters on the second Tuesday of each month and are open to the public.

Mark_J_2017-adjusted-web.jpg Lisa_R_2017-web.jpg Jeff_H_2017-web.jpg

Mark Joffer

President, Subdivision 1

Bon Homme, Douglas, Hanson, Hutchinson, McCook & Turner Counties

Lisa Rave

Vice President, Subdivision 8

Minnehaha County, excluding Split Rock Township thereof

 Jeff Heinemeyer

Secretary, Subdivision 6

Beadle, Clark, Kingsbury, Lake & Moody Counties

Josh_Pauli_2021-web.jpg Roger_F_2017-web.jpg  Pat_A_2017-web.jpg

Dr. Josh Pauli

Subdivision 10
The municipalities of Groton, Madison & Volga, SD

Roger Fritz

Treasurer, Subdivision 9
Brookings, Codington, Deuel & Hamlin Counties

Pat Anderson

Subdivision 2
Clay, Union & Yankton Counties
Larry_N_2017-web.jpg Lee_Ann_W_2017-web.jpg Dave_H_2017-web.jpg

Larry Nielson

Asst. Secretary/Treasurer, Subdivision 3

Brown, Buffalo, Hand, Hyde, Jerauld & Spink Counties

Lee Ann Wheeler

Subdivision 4

Lincoln County and Split Rock Township of Minnehaha County

Dave Hahler

Subdivision 5

Day, Grant, Marshall & Roberts Counties

 Vern_H_2017-web.jpg Bill_L_2017-web.jpg  

Vern Hill

Subdivision 7
Aurora, Brule, Charles Mix, Davison, Miner & Sanborn Counties and the
municipality of Plankinton, SD

Bill Lewellen

Subdivision 11
The municipalities of Arlington, Howard and Miller, SD